Team India will travel to the Caribbean for the limited-overs tour against the West Indies. The Men in Blue are due to play three One-Day Internationals and five T20I matches in order to prepare for the T20 World Cup Down Under in the October-November period.

India is currently engaged in a three-match ODI affair with England in their own backyard. At this stage, the series is tied at 1-1 with the final match scheduled to play on Sunday (July 17) at Old Trafford in Manchester.

On the other hand, West Indies defeated Bangladesh 2-0 in the T20I series but suffered a 3-0 whitewash by the Tigers at home.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named a second-string squad for the three ODIs. Senior players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Rishabh Pant have been rested for the ODI leg of the Caribbean tour.

India’s opening batter Shikhar Dhawan will lead a 16-member squad against West Indies in the three ODIs. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will serve as Dhawan’s deputy only for the ODIs.


Comments are closed.