Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Yuzvendra Chahal have been rested for the five T20Is against West Indies. The BCCI named an 18-man squad for the T20Is starting on July 29 in Trinidad.

The squad will be led by Rohit Sharma with the possibility of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav returning to the side subject to fitness clearance. Both had been sidelined by injuries recently and have been in the recovery phase.

The squad also sees the return of off-spinner R Ashwin to the T20I squad, with India keen to test out all possibilities ahead of the World Cup later this year. After a long hiatus from the white ball group, Ashwin made a comeback in the T20I World Cup last year but has not been a regular fixture in the side since, with injuries also playing a part in his exclusion.

India is set to play three ODIs and five T20Is on the tour of the Caribbean. Two of those T20Is are set to be played in Florida, USA. India had already named an ODI squad that was missing their regular members, and to be led by Shikhar Dhawan. Hardik Pandya and Rishabh Pant have been named in the T20I squad after being rested for the ODIs.


Comments are closed.