Australia has named a 16-man Test squad for their upcoming series against Sri Lanka, with opener Marcus Harris axed and no room found for Glenn Maxwell.

While there were reports that Maxwell — the short-ball specialist who has played seven Tests — would be parachuted back into the squad for the first time since 2017, Australia’s three-person selection panel rewarded the members that did the job in Pakistan in March.

Instead, spinners Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Swepson, who both featured prominently in Pakistan, as well as bowling all-rounder Ashton Agar have been selected.

All-rounder Mitch Marsh will provide back-up for Cameron Green, while Scott Boland is the spare seamer selected.

Nor is Maxwell in the Australian A side, with the batting all-rounder to instead feature in the short-form Australian side, with national chair selector, George Bailey, putting an added focus on the nation’s T20 World Cup defense and next year’s ODI World Cup.

“These are very targeted to skill sets and what we see as the bulk of the squad for the home T20 World Cup and looking further forward to the ODI World Cup,” he said.

“We were able to continue to build our depth with great white ball performances in Pakistan on the back of a superb Test Series. As selectors, this has been one of the most rewarding parts amid the challenges of the past few years.”

As well as two Tests, Australia will play five ODIs and three T20s on the tour. Australia A, meanwhile, will play two one-day and four-day matches.

Front-line spinner Adam Zampa has been left out of the squad, as the leggie prepares to welcome his first child.

Australian Test captain Pat Cummins, meanwhile, will miss the T20 component of the series to ensure he is fit and healthy for the ODIs and Test matches.

Under pressure short-form captain Aaron Finch has been selected, with Australia’s selectors adamant the opener will return to form even if that means defying age.

The tour also represents a golden opportunity for the next generation of players to put pressure on the incumbents, with spinners Matthew Kuhnemann, Todd Murphy and Tanveer Sangha included.

Former Test opener Matthew Renshaw, who has returned to the top of the order for Somerset in the County competition, has also been included in the Australian A side, which could pave the way for him to take over from either David Warner or Usman Khawaja down the track. South Australian Henry Hunt has also been included.

The tour is the biggest since the 2019 Ashes.

“There are several players returning to respective squads combined with an Australia A tour running in parallel to the white ball series,” Chair of National Selectors George Bailey said.

“It’s incredibly exciting to have an Australia A component which offers the further flexibility and opportunity for players to be available for and cross over into all squads. That could be from a Test or white ball preparation perspective or an opportunity to impress at an international level.

“Those factors coupled with what we expect to be more freedom of travel means we can be very specific with our structures while continuing to develop the next generation of players.

“This is the first time a tour of this scale has been possible since the Ashes in 2019.”

Australian T20 squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner, Matthew Wade

Australian ODI squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith,

Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australian Test squad:

Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia A:

Sean Abbott, Scott Boland, Pete Handscomb, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Harris, Travis Head,

Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nic Maddinson, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe,

Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, Mark Steketee

Tour of Sri Lanka Schedule:

June 7: First T20, Colombo

June 8: Second T20, Colombo

June 11: Third T20, Kandy

June 14: First ODI, Kandy

June 16: Second ODI, Kandy

June 19: Third ODI, Colombo

June 21: Fourth ODI, Colombo

June 24: Fifth ODI, Colombo

June 29 – July 3: First Test, Galle

July 8-12: Second Test, Galle

Australia A:

June 8: First one-day match, SSC/Colombo

June 10: Second one-day game, SSC/Colombo

June 14-17: Four-day tour match, Hambantota

June 21-24: Four-day tour match, Hambantota


Comments are closed.